skip to main content


We deliver two governance programmes across Scotland. The Good Governance Award is Scotland’s charity quality standard, and the Introduction to Good Governance Programme provides small charities with support to strengthen their core governance.

The Good Governance Award

The Award has been developed to support and celebrate governance best practice, recognising the importance of good management to the efficacy and efficiency of Scottish Charities.

In order to obtain the award, charities compile an eportfolio, evidencing competency and best practice across a range of criteria in 8 key areas of organisational governance. These are:

  • Charitable Status
  • Trustees
  • Planning, Delivering, & Monitoring
  • Recruitment
  • Managing Staff & Volunteers
  • Managing Finances
  • Managing Resources
  • Marketing & Communications

Registered charities are fully supported throughout the process, with regular contact with Good Governance Award staff, as well as access to resources for each section of the Award through the members’ area of this site.

The Award provides a clear, structured approach to assessing and improving a charity’s policies and procedures. Once completed, it provides proof that an organisation is actively engaging in excellent governance through our Award Certification.